Immunization requirements must be met by all students before starting school. Please do not register without proper documentation.
Immunizations and Health Requirements
In order for students to attend a school, the following is required by Virginia school entrance laws:
- A certificate from a licensed physician stating that the student has been successfully immunized against communicable diseases as required by state law at the time of registration.
- DTP, DtaP, DT, TD: OR TDAP:
- Minimum 4 doses with 1 dose on or after 4th birthday.
- TDAP booster before entry into 7th, 8th, 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th grades.
- POLIO (OPV OR IPV):
- Minimum of 4 doses with 1 dose on or after 4th birthday for all new students.
- MEASLES, MUMPS, RUBELLA (MMR):
- 2 doses of measles
- 2 doses of mumps for entry into kindergarten
- 1 dose of rubella
- All at 12 months (365 days) or older
- Second dose for entry into kindergarten through 12th grade.
- HEPATITIS B (HEP B): (Hib is not Hep B)
- 3 doses all grades.
- 2 doses of Recombivax for 11-15 years only.
- MENINGOCOCCAL CONJUGATE VACCINE (MenACWY, MCV4):
- At least one dose required before entry into 12th grade for 2022-2023 school year.
- One dose before entry into 7th grade (ages 11-12). The second dose shall be administered prior to 12th grade (age 16-18).
- 2 doses
- All 7th graders - If no documentation provided, do not exclude.
- VARICELLA (CHICKEN POX):
- 1 dose at 12 months (365 days) or older
- 1 dose, grade Pre-K
- 2 doses to enter kindergarten through 12th grade
- School nurse may verify and document parental report of disease.
- Parental Report of Varicella (Chicken Pox):
All of the following must be reported by the parents in describing the child's illness. If the following four criteria are met, the school nurse may document the history of varicella disease in Part II, Section 1, of the Virginia State Form MCH-213-G and initial entry. If all four criteria are not met or the nurse is uncertain, the parent will be referred to their private provider.
- Acute onset of illness
- Maculopapulovesicular rash without other apparent cause
- Generalized and itchy rash with most lesions on trunk
- Lesions crusted over
- PRE-K only - 2-4 doses depending on age at first dose
- HAEMOPHILUS INFLUENZAE TYPE B (Hib):
- 2-4 doses depending on age at first dose
- Students being admitted for the first time to any NNPS elementary school (Pre-K through grade 5), are required to provide a report of a comprehensive physical examination, signed by a licensed physician or nurse practitioner, performed within twelve months of the initial enrollment date.* A school physical form is available from the Virginia Department of Health.
- For students transferring into NNPS K-5, a copy of a physical examination in their cumulative record, which meets the above requirements, will be accepted. For Pre-K transfers, only physicals from NNPS PEEP program, Preschool, and Newport News Head Start will be accepted. All other Pre-K students must have a physical within 12 months of enrollment date** into NNPS.
* The initial enrollment date is the first date of school attendance in any school system (K through 5).** Enrollment date in NNPS is the first date of attendance, not registration.
If no records are available, the student will be referred to the Health Department or private medical provider to receive:
Pre-K – 12th grade
1 DTP, TDAP, DT or Td
|Pre-K, Kindergarten, and 1st grade||Hep A|
|7th, 8th & 12 grades||Meningococcal|
|Pre-K Only||1 Pneumococcal|
By Virginia state law, students should not be enrolled without at least one dose of all required shots.