12465 Warwick Boulevard, Newport News, VA 23606  Phone: (757) 591-4500

NN School Board

Newport News School Board

The Newport News School Board, composed of seven elected members and one student representative, is the official policy-making body for the school division.

GARY B. HUNTER (Chairman)   CARLTON S. ASHBY (Vice Chairman)
Gary Hunter Mr. Hunter has more than 25 years of experience in finance. He is a member of numerous community organizations and is a strong proponent of preparing students to be college and career-ready. He was elected to the School Board in May 2014.
(757) 833-7544
    Carlton Ashby Mr. Ashby has taught kindergarten for 35 years in Newport News and Hampton. He is currently a preschool enrichment teacher and co-director of the Teen Leadership Academy at Sixth Mount Zion Baptist Temple. Mr. Ashby mentors children of all ages and was elected to the School Board in 2006.
(757) 532-1028
Douglas Brown Mr. Brown is a statistical consultant to the federal government. A former educator, he is a product of public schools and has a passion for STEM education and athletics. He was elected to the School Board in May 2014.
(757) 750-0853 Douglas.Brown@nn.k12.va.us
  John R. Eley, III Mr. Eley is a local business owner and a graduate of Newport News Public Schools. He is an advocate of career and technical education and arts education. He was elected to the School Board in May 2016.
(757) 768-1433
Marvin L. Harris Mr. Harris is a training manager for the Department of Defense. He retired from the U.S. Army after 22 years of service. He is active in many service organizations. He was elected to the School Board in May 2016.
(757) 870-4916
  Shelly Simonds Ms. Simonds is a former educator and school PTA president. She was elected to the School Board in May 2012.
(757) 254-8781 Shelly.Simonds@nn.k12.va.us
Jeff Stodghill Mr. Stodghill is an architect with PMA in Hilton Village. He is a product of Newport News Public Schools and is active in many community activities. Mr. Stodghill was elected to the School Board in 2010.
(888) 418-1112
  Sophia Ramirez Sophia Ramirez is the student representative to the School Board for the 2017-2018 school year. She is a senior at Menchville High School and is a member of the Indoor and Outdoor Track team, the Spanish Honor Society, the Academic Team, Project Inclusion, Model United Nations and the Guitar Ensemble.

Clerk of the Board

You may contact Clerk of the Board Kim Hinton at (757) 591-7416 or by e-mail at kim.hinton@nn.k12.va.us.

Procedure for Citizens Addressing the School Board

The Newport News School Board conducts a regular meeting each month. The Board welcomes input from the public. Each regular meeting provides two opportunities for public comments from individuals addressing topics not appearing on the agenda. The first audience with the public, not to exceed 30 minutes, is at the beginning of the meeting following the opening ceremonies and Board recognitions and honors. The second opportunity to speak is toward the end of the meeting, following the Reports/Information section of the agenda.

Cards are available upon entering the meeting for individuals wishing to address the Board. They should fill out the card with name, address, and the topic on which they wish to speak, and return it to the agenda table. Individuals will be recognized by the School Board Chairman in the order the cards were received. Comments should be limited to a three-minute timeframe. A light system will display a green light when the speaker begins, a yellow light with 30 seconds remaining, and a red light to indicate the end of the three minutes. The Chairman will rule on such matters as the appropriateness of the subject being presented and the suitability of the time for such a presentation.